Stated Clerk Parsons uncontested for a second term

Gradye Parsons will face no competitors for election to a second term as stated clerk of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) at the upcoming General Assembly. He has been selected by the Stated Clerk Nomination Committee (SCNC) to stand as its nominee.

Five potential candidates requested application packets after they were made available in late fall, but only Parsons submitted an application by the Jan. 3 deadline, making him the first unchallenged incumbent since the northern and southern branches of the church reunited in 1983.

When asked in his application to identify highlights from his first term, Parsons mentioned the adoption of the new Form of Government, the formation of the Mid-Council Commission, the six-agency leadership initiative, the start of a process to recreate the National Council of Churches and annual gatherings of national staff from all six agencies to help promote harmony and collaboration among the agencies.

In responding to the SCNC’s nomination of him for a second term, Parsons said, “I am humbled and honored to be nominated to serve another term. I believe God is doing something amazing in the church, and we are all fortunate to be both witnesses to it and participants in it.”

The SCNC will nominate Parsons to the 220th General Assembly in Pittsburgh July 1.

In addition to Hughes, members of the SCNC, elected by the 219th GA in 2010, include: ruling elders Reid Beveridge (Wilmington, Del.), Melissa Kirkpatrick (Gainesville, Va.) and Vincent Thomas (Minneapolis, Minn.); and teaching elders Terry Epling (St. Louis), Dan Krebill (Bozeman, Mont.), Eileen Lindner (Tenafly, N. J.), Matthew Schramm (Bay City, Mich.) and Judith Wellington (Albuquerque, N.M.). The staff resource person to the committee is ruling elder Barbara Murphy (Orange, Calif.).

ShareShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail to someone

Leave a Reply