Click here for General Assembly coverage

COTE names recipients of Excellence in Theological Education award

cote-logo2_small200by Robin Rueff, The Office of Theological Education

LOUISVILLE (PNS)  The Committee on Theological Education (COTE) is recognizing two transformational leaders for their contributions to theological education in and for the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.).

Rev. Dr. Cynthia M. Campbell and Rev. Dr. Jack B. Rogers are being honored with the Excellence in Theological Education award at the Theological Education Awards Breakfast, 221st General Assembly. It is the first year two recipients are being recognized with the award.

“When we saw these two names, we knew it was not a choice,” said Kathy Wolf Reed, chair of COTE. “We have to give tribute to both of them.”

Campbell, who serves as pastor and head of staff at Highland Presbyterian Church in Louisville, is the president emeritus of McCormick Theological Seminary. Her past leadership roles include pastor, First Presbyterian Church, Salina, Kansas; associate pastor, Northminster Presbyterian Church, Dallas; and professor, Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary.

Rogers was moderator of the 213th General Assembly and is professor emeritus of San Francisco Theological Seminary. His past leadership roles include assistant academic dean, Westminster College, Pennsylvania; associate for theological studies, Office of Theology and Worship, PC(USA); and associate provost and director of Presbyterian ministries, Fuller Theological Seminary.

Visitors and commissioners to the 221st General Assembly are invited to attend the Theological Education Awards Breakfast. Tickets are available here.

COTE is an advocate for theological education, seeking to support seminaries (both financially and in other ways) and to strengthen them for their mission to the whole church. It seeks to identify, develop, and propose strategies for a systemic approach to theological education within the PC(USA).