Committee leaders named for 221st General Assembly (2014)

by Eva Stimson

LOUISVILLE (PNS)  Moderators and vice moderators have been selected to lead the fourteen committees that will handle the business of the 221st General Assembly (2014) of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). The committee leaders were chosen by the Reverend Neal Presa, Moderator of the 220th General Assembly (2012).

“I am delighted and grateful that these colleagues in ministry have accepted my appointment to serve the 221st General Assembly as committee leaders,” Presa says. “They offer gifts and skills to lead their fellow commissioners and advisory delegates in worship, prayer, discussion, and debate to collectively discern the heart and mind of Jesus Christ in the power of the Holy Spirit for our life together.”

Presa chose the committee leaders from among the teaching elders and ruling elders elected by their presbyteries to serve as commissioners to this year’s assembly. The appointed moderators and vice moderators, Presa says, “bring to the 221st General Assembly a deep love for our Lord, his church, and the gospel, along with a wealth of experience, and they represent the rich diversity of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.).”

The assembly committees and their leaders are as follows:

Bills and Overtures—moderator, Susan Orr (Synod of the Northeast); vice moderator, Raul Santiago-Rivera (Synod of Puerto Rico)

General Assembly Procedures—moderator, Gene McEvoy (Synod of the Covenant); vice moderator, Gun Ho Lee (Synod of the Mid-Atlantic)

Middle East Issues—moderator, Albert Butzer (Synod of the Mid-Atlantic); Ginny Sheets (Synod of Lincoln Trails)

Mid Councils Issues—moderator, Courtenay Willcox (Synod of the Trinity); vice moderator, Don Frankland (Synod of Mid-America)

Church Polity and Ordered Ministry—moderator, Judith Ferguson (Synod of the Sun); vice moderator, Kath Stoner Lasala (Synod of Lincoln Trails)

Ecumenical and Interfaith Relations—moderator, Jiihyun Oh (Synod of South Atlantic); vice moderator, John Vest (Synod of Lincoln Trails)

Mission Coordination—moderator, Linda Scholl (Synod of Living Waters); vice moderator, David Ealy (Synod of Mid-Atlantic)

Social Justice Issues—moderator, Dan Ponder (Synod of South Atlantic); vice moderator, Gloria Young (Synod of the Southwest)

Civil Union and Marriage Issues—moderator, Jeffrey Bridgeman (Synod of Southern California and Hawaii); vice moderator, Rebecca Tollefson (Synod of the Covenant)

Peacemaking and International Issues—moderator, Jesus Sanchez Reyes (Synod of the South Atlantic); vice moderator, Karen Breckenridge (Synod of Alaska-Northwest)

Board of Pensions, Presbyterian Investment and Loan Program, Presbyterian Publishing Corporation, and Presbyterian Foundation—moderator, Jack Shelver (Synod of Southern California and Hawaii); vice moderator, Monica Hall (Synod of the Rocky Mountains)

Theological Issues and Institutions—moderator, Quinn Fox (Synod of the Mid-Atlantic); vice moderator, Derrick McQueen (Synod of the Northeast)

Congregational Vitality—moderator, Robin Lyn Valdez (Synod of the Sun); vice moderator, Veronica Cannon (Synod of the Mid-Atlantic)

Immigration and Environmental Issues—moderator, Don Choi (Synod of the Pacific); vice moderator, Stephanie Anthony (Synod of Lakes and Prairies)